San Antonio Distracted Driving Ordinance Facts
Distracted Driving Ordinance Facts:
1) The original distracted driving ordinance was passed in San Antonio in 2010. It was amended in 2014 to provide for the ban of all hand held devices while driving.
2) On February 1st, San Antonio Police Department and anyone authorized to give tickets can fine you up to $200 for a violation.
3) According to the Texas Department of Transportation, more than 90,000 crashes have been linked to distracted driving.
4) According to the National Highway Traffic and Safety Administration,
5) Cell phone use was reported in 18% of distracted driving related fatalities in 2014
6) Five seconds is the average time your eyes are off the road while texting. When traveling at 55mph, that’s enough time to cover the length of a football field blindfolded according to the Federal Motor Carrier Association.
7) 14 states, D.C., Puerto Rico, Guam and the U.S. Virgin Islands prohibit all drivers from using handheld cell phones while driving
8) According to an police data, in the past three years there were approximately 250 crashes related to cell phone use
9) San Antonio and Austin both went hands free in 2015. Austin was the first city in Texas, in 2009, with a distracted driving ordinance.
10) After a year, San Antonio will review the law and its impact to evaluate its effectiveness
Watch this video for more 4 driving habits that are now outlawed by the San Antonio Distracted Driving Ordinance